University of Louisville Names Dr. Bendapudi 18th President

The University of Louisville selected Dr. Neeli Bendapudi as its next president. Currently Dr. Bendapudi serves as provost and executive vice chancellor at the University of Kansas. She will start in her new position effective May 15, 2018.

Black Hawk College Appoints Dr. John Erwin Interim President

Dr. John Erwin is appointed interim president of Black Hawk College effective January 2, 2018. He was previously interim president of Marion Technical College. Dr. Erwin replaces Dr. Bettie Truitt who retires at the end of December.

Albany State University President Art Dunning Will Retire Early Next Year

Dr. Arthur Dunning will retire from Albany State University effective January 31, 2018. Dr. Dunning has been in Georgia higher education for 31 years and president of Albany State since 2015. A transition team will be put in place to oversee the appointment of a new president.

Connie Ledoux Book Named Elon University’s Ninth President

Elon University has chosen Connie Ledoux Book as its next president. Ms. Book is currently serving as provost of The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina. Prior to The Citadel, she also served at Elon as a faculty member. Ms. Book will take on her new duties effective March 1, 2018.

University of Montana Names Seth Bodnar Next President

Seth Bodnar has been chosen as the next president of the University of Montana. Bodnar is currently a senior executive at GE Transportation. He will assume the presidency effective January 1, 2018 upon approval from Montana’s Board of Regents.

John Wesley U. and Piedmont International U. to Merge

John Wesley University will merge into Piedmont International University effective June 1, 2018. The two schools are the largest evangelical universities in the Triad area. JWU’s President Dr. Steven Condon will serve as Chancellor of the new merged Piedmont University and PIU’s President Charles Petit will continue to serve as PIU’s president.

Bluffton University President Dr. James M. Harder Announces Retirement

Bluffton University’s president Dr. James M. Harder will retire on June 30, 2018. Harder has been president of Bluffton for 12 years. He has worked in Mennonite higher education for the past 32 years, including 17 years at Bluffton. The university plans to appoint a search committee for a new president in the coming weeks.

Morehouse College BOT Names Mr. Harold L. Martin, Jr. New Interim President

Mr. Harold Martin Jr. is the new interim president of Morehouse College as of June 26, 2017. He takes over the duties of former interim president William J. (Bill) Taggart, who passed away earlier in June. Mr. Martin was formerly Secretary of the Morehouse Board of Trustees and has stepped down from the Board to assume his role as interim president.

Bergen Community College Terminates President B. Kaye Walter

Dr. B. Kaye Walter was fired from her job as president of Bergen Community College on June 27th. The college board gave no reason for ending Walter’s contract. Dr. Michael Redmond, professor of religion and philosophy has been named interim president.

Benedict College Names Roslyn Clark Artis as Next President

Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis is named Benedict College’s 14th president. She will replace Dr. David Homes Swinton who has been in office for 23 years and retired last week. She will start in her new position September 1. Dr. Clark will be the first woman president to lead the college. She currently is president of Florida Memorial University.