Dr. L. Gregory Jones is Stepping Down as Baylor Provost and Exec. VP

Dr. L. Gregory Jones will return to Duke University in a faculty position effective June 30, 2017. Jones has been Baylor University’s EVP and Provost since May 16, 2016. Baylor will name an interim provost in the near future.

Ohio President Duane Nellis Names David Descutner Interim Exec VP and Provost

On his first day in office Ohio University President Duane Nellis appointed Dr. David Descutner as interim EVP and Provost. Descutner succeeds Dr. Pam Benoit who went to the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Descutner starts his new position July 1, 2017.

Former Ivy League President Dr. Ruth Simmons to Lead Prairie View A&M University

Prairie View A&M University names Dr. Ruth Simmons as interim president. Dr. Simmons was formerly president of Brown University for 11 years. She succeeds current President George Wright who announced his retirement this June. Dr. Simmons will begin her new job July 1, 2017.

Vernon College Dean Dr. Gary Harkey Dies in Crash

Vernon College’s dean of instructional services, Dr. Gary Harkey, died in a truck accident last week. According to officials his front left tire blew out on his pick-up. The truck rolled multiple times and Harkey was ejected from the vehicle. Dr. Harkey worked at Vernon College for 8 years.

Ferrum College Releases President Joseph Spooner from his Contract

Dr. Joseph Spooner, president of Ferrum College, was released from his contract 3 months early. There was no clear reason given for the dismissal. Chris Burnley, vice president of business, has been named the interim top executive on campus.

Eastern Idaho Technical College to Become College of Eastern Idaho

Voters in Bonneville County, ID have approved the transition of Eastern Idaho Technical College (EITC) into the College of Eastern Idaho (CEI). EITC president Dr. Rick Aman hopes to have a “soft launch” of the community college by the end of August 2017. For that to happen the Idaho State Board of Education must appoint a board of trustees for CEI and the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities must approve the accreditation of several associate degrees.

Idaho State BOE Revises Process for Selecting BOT for College of Eastern Idaho

The Idaho State Board of Education is expediting the selection of trustees for the College of Eastern Idaho (CEI). The State Board is accepting applications from Bonneville County residents. Applications must be received by June 23 and a selection of CEI Trustees could be made by the first week of July.

North Central College Acquires Shimer Great Books Program

North Central College will integrate Shimer College’s Shimer Great Books program into its Naperville, Il campus. The Shimer Great Books School at North Central will provide education centered on reading, discussion and writing. North Central is planning on about 50 students enrolling in the Shimer program this fall.

Southeastern Bible College Suspends Operations Suddenly

Southeastern Bible College has suspended operations as of June 1, 2017. In a statement made by President Alexander Granados, a plan for a “teach-out” is in the works. The college does not foresee a potential reopening in the future.