Eastern Idaho Technical College to Become College of Eastern Idaho

Voters in Bonneville County, ID have approved the transition of Eastern Idaho Technical College (EITC) into the College of Eastern Idaho (CEI). EITC president Dr. Rick Aman hopes to have a “soft launch” of the community college by the end of August 2017. For that to happen the Idaho State Board of Education must appoint a board of trustees for CEI and the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities must approve the accreditation of several associate degrees.

Idaho State BOE Revises Process for Selecting BOT for College of Eastern Idaho

The Idaho State Board of Education is expediting the selection of trustees for the College of Eastern Idaho (CEI). The State Board is accepting applications from Bonneville County residents. Applications must be received by June 23 and a selection of CEI Trustees could be made by the first week of July.

North Central College Acquires Shimer Great Books Program

North Central College will integrate Shimer College’s Shimer Great Books program into its Naperville, Il campus. The Shimer Great Books School at North Central will provide education centered on reading, discussion and writing. North Central is planning on about 50 students enrolling in the Shimer program this fall.

Southeastern Bible College Suspends Operations Suddenly

Southeastern Bible College has suspended operations as of June 1, 2017. In a statement made by President Alexander Granados, a plan for a “teach-out” is in the works. The college does not foresee a potential reopening in the future.

David Pershing to Step Down as President of the University of Utah

The University of Utah president, Dr. David Pershing, has announced he will be stepping down later this year. He had planned to leave at the end of the 2017-18 school year. Dr. Pershing will continue as president until his replacement is found.

Alexander Cartwright Named University of Missouri Chancellor

University of Missouri – Columbia (MIZZOU) has appointed Dr. Alexander Cartwright chancellor. Currently Dr. Cartwright is provost and executive vice president of the State University of New York System Office (SUNY). He will assume his new position as chancellor in August 2017.

University of Missouri-Columbia to Eliminate About 400 Positions

Due to dropping enrollment numbers the University of Missouri-Columbia (Mizzou) is expected to cut about 400 positions. Most of the cuts would be through attrition, retirement or non-renewal of non-tenured faculty contracts. Mizzou has been asked to cut about 8 to 12 percent of its budget.

Carnegie Mellon President Subra Suresh to Step Down End of June

Dr. Subra Suresh, president of Carnegie Mellon University, will step down June 30, 2017. He has been president since 2013. Prior to his presidency Dr. Suresh was director of the National Science Foundation. Carnegie Mellon Board Chairman James E. Rohr announced that an interim president will be named later this month.

University of Utah Health Care CEO Dr. Vivian Lee Resigns/Dr. Lorris Betz Named Interim

CEO of Utah Health Care Vivian Lee and University president David Pershing fired the director of the Huntsman Cancer Institute, Mary Beckerle, this past April causing high tensions with staff and faculty. Beckerle was reinstated and Dr. Vivian Lee resigned. President Pershing named Dr. Lorris Betz as interim CEO to replace Dr. Lee.

Dr. Kristina M. Johnson Appointed 13th Chancellor of SUNY

Dr. Kristina M. Johnson will be the new chancellor of the State University of New York (SUNY) effective September 5, 2017. She will replace Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher who steps down in June. An interim chancellor will be appointed for the June – August gap by the SUNY board at its June 21st meeting.