College President’s Report – May 2019


Former Governor Appointed Head of University of Maine System

Dannell Malloy, governor of Connecticut from 2010 to 2018, will become the next chancellor of the University of Maine System. Malloy will replace Chancellor James Page, who announced his retirement earlier this year, on July 1st.

read more

***Stay up-to-date with all the changes in Higher Ed administrations through HigherEd Direct…Try our database today for free HERE.

New President Named at Edinboro University

Guiyou Huang has been selected by the Board of Governor’s of Pennsylvania to become the next president of Edinboro University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Huang currently serves as chancellor for Louisiana State University of Alexandria. He will begin his tenure at Edinboro on July 1st.

read more

Humboldt State University Appoints New President

Current Black Hills State University President, Dr. Tom Jackson Jr., has been named the next president at Humboldt State University. Jackson said, “ I welcome the opportunity to work with HSU’s talented faculty and staff, alongside community members, to ensure that those life-altering opportunities are expanded for current and future students.” Jackson will begin his post as president in July.

read more

Iona Names New Ninth President

Seamus Carey has been named the next president at Iona College. Carey currently serves as president of Transylvania University in Lexington Kentucky. He will become the school’s ninth president begin July 1st.

read more

Sorenson Announced as Chancellor at LSU Eunice

Current president at Hillsborough CC, Nancee Sorenson, has been named the next president at LSU Eunice. She said, “It’s a true honor to be selected as the new leader of LSU Eunice and work under the direction of such a tremendous president as Dr. King Alexander.” Sorenson will begin her leadership upon approval from the Board of Supervisors.

read more

San Francisco State University Appoints New President

Lynn Mahoney has been named the next president at SFSU by the California State University Board of Trustees. Mahoney is the current provost at Cal State Los Angeles. She will become the 14th president at SFSU on July 15th.

read more

SUNY Empire State Names Next President

Dr. Jim Malatras has been approved by the SUNY board of Trustees to become the next president at SUNY Empire state. Malatras currently serves as the president of Rockefeller Institute of Government, and will become the fifth Empire State president this summer.

read more

New President Selected at Thomas More University

Former president of Newbury College, Joseph L. Chillo, has been announced as Thomas More University’s next president. Chillo said, “It is a great honor and my distinct privilege to be selected to serve as Thomas More University’s 15th president.” He will begin his tenure on June 1st.

read more

University of Wyoming Names New Acting President

Current University of Wyoming VP for Finance and Administration, Neil Theobald, has been chosen to become new acting president. Theobald will replace current President Laurie Nichols on July 1st.

read more


Oklahoma President to Retire After One Year

University of Oklahoma president, Jim Gallogly, will retire after only one year of leading the institution. Gollogly said, “(My wife) Janet and I have been honored to serve our university.” Gollogly’s term as president has been marred with controversies. He will officially leave the school once a transition for a successor has been put in place.

read more

Centre College President to Retire

Centre College President John Roush has announced his plans to retire from Centre College after 22 years at the helm. Roush said, “Our plan is to finish strong and keep working hard up to the very last day.” He plans to officially retire on June 30th, 2020.

read more


Depauw President Announces Resignation

President D. Mark McCoy has announced his plans to retire at the end of the 2019-20 academic year. McCoy said, “I have loved my time at Depauw as dean and president.” McCoy has served as the school’s leader since 2016. The Board has begun a national search for a replacement.

read more

Darrell to Resign from Kentucky Wesleyan

Barton D. Darrell has announced his plan to retire as president from Kentucky Wesleyan this June 1st. Darrell has served as the school’s 34th president since September 2014.

read more

Portland State President Resigns

President Rahmat Shoureshi has resigned as president from Portland State University. Shoureshi led the school for the past 21 months, but fell out of favor with trustees who questioned his ability to lead the institution.

read more