University College

College President’s Report – May 2018


Broward Picks New President

Gregory Adam Haile has been selected to become the next president at Broward College. Haile is an attorney with a law degree from Columbia University. He will replace current president, Mr. David Armstrong, in June.

read more

Clarion University Appoints Next President

Current dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Central Michigan University, Dr. Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson, has been unanimously selected to become Clarion University of Pennsylvania’s next president. Dr. Pehrsson has over 25 years of experience in the higher education realm and will begin her new tenure July 1st.

read more

***Instantly verify accreditation and higher ed administrator contact info with HigherEd Direct…Test our database today for free HERE.

Bucknell Provost Announced as New President at Franklin & Marshall

Dr. Barbara K. Altmann has been named the 16th president of Franklin & Marshall University. Altmann currently serves as provost at Bucknell. She will begin as president this fall, following outgoing President Daniel Porterfield.

read more

New President for New Academic Year at Marymount

Marymount University has announced that Dr. Irma Becerra, current provost at St. Thomas University, will become the institutions seventh president. Dr. Becerra will begin in July and succeeds Dr. Mathew Shank, who is retiring.

read more

Mississippi College Names Next Leader

Dr. Blake Thompson has been named by college trustees as the schools 20th president. Dr. Thompson currently serves as VP of government affairs at Ohio State. Thompson will begin his tenure this summer, replacing Dr. Lee Royce, who will retire after 16 years at the helm.

read more

North Carolina CC System Appoints New President

Peter Hans has been selected by the State Board of Community Colleges to serve as the system’s incoming president. Hans will replace Dr. James C. Williamson, who resigned last August. He is the system’s 9th president.

read more

Pennsylvania State System of Higher Ed Names New Chancellor

Daniel Greenstein, former senior advisor at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, has been selected to become the next chancellor of Pennsylvania’s state university system. Greenstein will begin this September.

read more

New President Named at Saint Mary’s University

SMU has announced that the Rev. James Burns, currently a dean at Boston College, will become the school’s next president. Burns will succeed William Mann, who announced his retirement after 10 years last fall. Rev. Burns will begin this July.

read more

Board Announces New President at Simpson

Simpson University has named Dr. Norman Hall as the institutions next president. Hall will succeed current president, Robin Dummer, who is retiring in May. Dr. Hall will begin this June and leaves his post as vice president for international and alumni affairs and major gift officer at Greenville University.

read more

New President Named at South Dakota

Ms. Sheila Gestring, current top financial executive at USD, has been announced as the next president at the school. Gestring will succeed Dr. Jim Abbott, who is retiring at the end of this academic year. She will begin on Junes 22nd.

read more

St. Cloud State President Announced

Dr. Robbyn Wacker has been named the 24th president of St. Cloud State. She will replace President Ashish Vaidya, who is leaving his interim post to become the next president at Northern Kentucky University.

read more

St. Thomas University Picks Next President

St. Thomas University Board of Trustees have announced that Dr. David Armstrong will become the next president of the school. Armstrong previously served as president of Thomas More college, and will replace Monsignor Frankly Casale, who is retiring in July. Dr. Armstrong will begin this August.

read more

Tuskegee Names Next President

The Board of Trustees at Tuskegee University has announced that Dr. Lily D. McNair will become the school’s eighth president. McNair will become the schools first female president this July and succeeds Interim President Charlotte P. Morris.

read more

Tennessee Names Interim President

Dr. Wayne Davis has been announced as interim president of the University of Tennessee. Davis currently serves as the Dean of Engineering and began as president on May 7th.

read more


Roger Williams President to Retire

Dr. Donald Farish has announced that he will retire in June 2019 after his contract ends. Farish has led the Rhode Island school since 2011. A search firm will be hired by trustees to begin this summer.

read more

UT El Paso President Announces Retirement

Current president of Texas El Paso, Dr. Diana Natalicio, has announced that she will retire after 30 years as UTEP’s president. Natalicio said, “I have concluded that this may be an appropriate time to begin bringing to a close this chapter in my higher education story, nearly all of which I have joyfully spent at UTEP.” Dr. Natalicio will officially retire upon the naming of a successor.

read more


UConn President to Step Down

Susan Herbst has announced that she will step down as president of the University of Connecticut in July of 2019. Herbst has served the school for the past eight years. She said, “Stepping down was not an easy decision by any means.” She will continue to teach at UConn upon finding her successor.

read more

Southern Cal President Resigns

Current USC president, C.L. Max Nikias, has resigned from his post at the institution. Reports cite numerous scandals during Nikias’ term, most recently including a longtime school gynecologist accused of sexual abuse toward female students. Nikias served as USC president for the last eight years.

read more